Making the most out of your YubiKey 4

Henrique Gonçalves
7 min readJul 21, 2018

This story was originally posted at https://blog.hadenes.io/post/making-the-most-out-of-your-yubikey-4/

I have used YubiKey for years now. I had a battle-proven Yubikey NEO for the last 5 years on my keyring, and honestly, after rain, mud, falls, dog bites and washing machines, it was impeccable, if a bit worn out. Those things are nearly indestructible.

I recently got a new one in a conference, along with a YubiKey 4C, and decided to give the old one to a friend just for the sake of passing it along.

I decided to use the 4C as my main YubiKey and the new NEO as a backup.

Another friend of mine attended the same conference and got the same YubiKey, and has been bugging me to write a guide on how I use my device. Guess he got it.

YubiKey NEO x YubiKey 4C

Before we begin, let’s discuss the differences between both versions of YubiKey I’m using and why I choose one over another to be my primary.

--

--